Happy Ada Lovelace Day!

Who is Ada Lovelace?

Ada Lovelace

Born in 1815, she wrote the world’s first computer programs for the Analytical Machine, a device invented by Charles Babbage. That’s pretty impressive. So, why isn’t her name as well known as Steve Jobs, Steve Wozniak, or Bill Gates? If you read over the posts in this blog over the past couple of months, you’ll see some of the reasons that researchers suggest as to why women are minorities in technological fields as well as some suggestions for how to reverse this gender computing gap.

One such effort is Ada Lovelace Day, an international day of blogging to draw attention to women excelling in technology.

I pledged to blog about a woman role model in technology today. The trouble is, I’m having a hard time picking just one. But, there is a group of women I’d like to give props to…the women with whom I’ve worked at University Information Technology Services (UITS), who I refer to in my own head as the “UITS Beauties”:

Kristin Hanks is a natural leader, an amazing mother, beautiful, smart, and a woman to whom I owe a large debt of gratitude, since, if she hadn’t hired me, I wouldn’t be where I am today. She also inspired me to go back to grad school.

Tara Bazler is my current manager. I am awed by the fact that she is still sane, given how much she has on her plate!

Tiffany McCormick‘s ability to fix hardware on the fly is amazing. My ‘D’ key has never worked better, thanks to her! And, I’ve never, ever had a conversation with her which didn’t end with us laughing!

Tracie Greer is such a beautiful and funny woman who gives so much of herself to everyone around her. This world is so much better off with her in it! (I just wish she’d realize that!)

Leah Mathews is is the tie-wrapping queen! She gets the job done, and it’s always done right. And, she’s got a great sense of humor and an huge heart.

Nitocris Perez is ubercool. I don’t know how else to say it. She can create a vi command and replace your motherboard all before her first cup of coffee in the morning! She really should wear a cape.

Emily Adams is beautiful, funny, an awesome dancer, an amazing leader and a Mac queen!

Thank you Kristin, Tara, Tiffany, Tracie, Leah, Nitocris, and Emily for helping to make UITS such a wonderful place to work!

You can find many other Ada Lovelace Day blogs here: http://ada.pint.org.uk/list.php

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nitocris on March 30, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    Jenny, you’re one of my heroes! If it weren’t for you I never would have known that I could run. I just didn’t believe I had it in me. Running is incredible, painful and joyous all at the same time. It takes me back to a feeling from childhood when I could climb trees, swing on monkey-bars and feel totally alive and free. Finding the strength to persevere and overcome fitness obstacles helps me believe in myself and my capacity to create positive changes in the world around me. The world is better place with you in it and I am glad to count you as a friend.

    Reply

  2. […] event last year, I pledged to blog about the achievements of women in technology and science, and I fulfilled that pledge. I’m doing the same thing this year…hence this […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

