Archive for August 16th, 2008

BlogIndiana pictures and tweetboard

Several folks were taking pictures at the conference. Here are some:  BlogIndiana Day 1 Photos

During the day, a tweetboard was projected on a few screens.  If someone tweeted @blogindiana, it showed up on the board.  Much like the TwitterSpaces display in the Bloomington Informatics building lobby (though not as polished).

This provided much entertainment throughout the day.  Some people tweeted links to their blog, others tweeted about the sessions they were in.  Lots of humorous tweets.  I almost enjoyed the tweet interactions as much as the conference!

Of course, anyone can follow the tweets using any of the tweet search engines by searching on “@blogindiana”.  Several people who were not at the conference attended vicariously through others’ tweets.

The experience did make me realize that multitasking will be taken to a new level in the not-to-distant future.  Today I found myself trying to: 1) follow and participate in the tweets, 2) get to “know” the other participants and presenters by looking at their profiles and blogs, 3) pay attention to the presenters, 4) follow the links posted in tweets or at presentations, 5) have a chat conversation with my hubby and 6) take notes all at the same time.

Overall, the conference is very intriguing.  I’ve typed about 6 pages of notes so far.  But, I’m home now and am looking forward to spending the evening with my hubby.  I plan to blog later about that content.  But, for now, my geek hat has been removed.

‘Nite all.

Do you blog? Then fill out the BlogIndiana Census

If you have your own blog and you are in Indiana, and if you haven’t already filled it out, go fill out the BlogIndianaCensus!

During the morning announcement session of the BlogIndiana Conference, the initial results of this survey were presented. At the time, 117 people had filled out the survey. I KNOW there are more bloggers in Indiana! Let’s represent, people!

Some of the findings they presented that I noted:

  • Of the 117 people who completed the survey, 42 were female and, 75 were male.
  • Most respondents are in Indy (62), but lots of other cities were mentioned, including our very own Bloomington.
  • The most popular platform is blogger (50), wordpress is 2nd.
  • Most respondents have been blogging for one year–38–while only 4 have been doing it for 8 or more years.
  • Post frequency—41 post every day, 26 post 2-3x a week, 19 post once a week, 15 post less than once a week, 10 post every other day, and 4 post once a month.

Very interesting stuff!  I’m very curious how these numbers may or may not change as more people fill it out.

I’m currently at the BlogIndiana conference, on the IUPUI campus.  I’ve attended the opening announcements, two sessions, and lunch.  Waiting for a panel, then two more sessions for the day.  I hope to be able to blog about them specifically later today or tonight (I’m finding that I’m not as good at multitasking as I had once imagined!)